Donor states are the member states of the European Economic Area that provide funding through the EEA Financial Mechanism, namely Iceland, the Principality of Liechtenstein, and the Kingdom of Norway.

The EEA Financial Mechanism and the Norwegian Financial Mechanism contribute to reducing social and economic inequalities in Europe and at the same time strengthen bilateral cooperation between the donor states (Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway) and the beneficiary states.

For the period from 2014 to 2021, the donor states have allocated a total of 2.8 billion euros for 15 European countries: 1.5 billion euros through the EEA Financial Mechanism and 1.3 billion euros through the Norwegian Financial Mechanism.